Australian Dairy Company

When I first came across the name of this place, bcos’ my friends told me I have to make a trip there, I thought it was a modern cafe serving up eggs benedict, big breakfast, latte etc.

When I finally went there, I realised it was a typical Hong Kong coffeeshop (called the Char Chan Ting in Cantonese). So then which part of it is Australian? My friend told me that apparently, the dairy products they used are Australian. So I guess that was probably where the naming inspiration came from.

austdairy4

Tried the legendary scrambled eggs toast with ham. Whatever you do, you MUST order a scrambled egg something. And yes it was AWESOME. It was a different style of preparation from the western style scrambled egg. I do make scrambled eggs at home and I follow the western recipe of adding milk or cream in it else it would be dry. But this is legendary I need to experiment how they do it. It was moist but not over milky and creamy and it doesn’t come out in a curd style. Don’t underestimate this simple looking toast.

austdairy1

austdairy2

A long queue is expected but it moves quickly bcos the turnover is really fast. It was chaotic and no nonsense in the cafe. You can only sit at seats assigned to you by the shop guys. You are expected to read and digest the menu and decide what you want to have in seconds. I stared at the Chinese menu and looked at my friends and asked them what egg related stuff is served under the toast section. Do not be afraid to ask for an English menu hahaha they do have one just that since both my friends are well versed in Chinese, I made them decipher the menu and place the order.

And when you are  about 3/4 done with your food, there will be a ‘reminder’ to speed up and get out. Staff will stand around the table and give you “the look” to remind you to chomp or rather swallow your food quickly.

Well I chose to sip my tea slowly 😛 My friends became stressed out hahaha.. The tea was thick and tasted just right when paired with the milk. My gf felt it was a little too thick for her liking but i love it! I am a tea addict after all.

austdairy3

Heard that the milk pudding is good too but we were too full to ingest anymore stuff. We had a double breakfast of congee from elsewhere followed by the scrambled eggs toasts and tea. Let me know how does the milk pudding taste if you have tried it 🙂

Calories worthy: 4/5

Australia Dairy Company 澳洲牛奶公司
G/F, 47-49 Parkes Street, Jordan,

Opening Hours: 7:30am – 11:00pm (Closed on Thursdays)

Nearest MTR Station: Jordan Exit C2

xx dawnut xx

Leave a comment