Salt Grill & Sky Bar

As the lift doors opened on the 55th floor of ION Orchard, I was greeted by the friendly staff members of the restaurant. My first time to the restaurant and the hospitality, ambience and fusion menu felt some what familiar. It reminded me of the Bennelong in Sydney. It’s no wonder why I felt the familiarity because I went to read about the restaurant later on and found out it is one of several restaurants under the belt of Australian celebrity chef Luke Mangan. And the concept of the restaurant revolves around the modern oz concept which has a fusion touch.

Went for the 3 course set lunch priced at $49 per pax. You can check out the menu here. Would have definitely ordered a cocktail if not for the fact that I had to head back to work after :p

Started crunching off some freshly made sweet potato and potato chips with an Italian dip, complimentary from the Chef.

salt3

So for the entrée I chose the Seared scallop, cauliflower puree, XO sauce, pork crackling , broccolini (I think they replaced with green beans). The two key words that got my taste buds tingling were scallop and pork crackling. I have always enjoyed eating scallops in restaurants because it is really hard not to overcook them at home. Without a doubt, it was cooked to perfection and the green beans give the dish a crunch. I was (greedy) dreaming for a piece of crackling pork topping each of the scallop but it came in sprinkled bits around the dish. Cauliflower puree was smooth and light. I almost forgotten it was cauliflower and thought it was some cream. I always like a touch of Asian in fusion dishes so the XO sauce worked for me. salt2

So in the Kurobuta main I got my crackling pork skin! The grilled pork loin was really tender and that brown garlic sauce below was really fragrant and delicious. It’s the kinda garlic sauce that you typically taste in asian style stir fry vege dishes. salt1

Had the mango sorbet, crumbs and berries for dessert. I love those crumbs. Tasted like a tart crust. Buttery and crunchy. Not sure if there is a way to choose berries, they are mostly sweet or at least not sour!

salt4

Salt Grill & Sky Bar
http://www.saltgrill.com

Restaurant
Lunch: 11.00 – 13:45 (Last Seating)
Dinner: 18:00 – 21:45 (last Seating)

Sky bar
Drink: Daily 11:00 – 23:00 (Last Order)
Food: Sun-Thur 21:45 (Last order) / Fri & Sat 22:15 (Last order)

Afternoon Tea (Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Public Holiday)
14:30 – 16:45 (Last Order)

xx dawnut

Leave a Reply

